Evaluating Joomla

I’m looking at Joomla to serve as a simple website development tool and content management system. Hoping to find something that let me create a simple site for a client who can then go on and manage text and change pictures. I have on client in particular, a small business, with a very limited budget and no on-board technical staff. I’m skeptical since this is the realm of magic bullet in my experience…either tools are too complicated for endusers or so simplistic and restrictive as to be useless for developing a site.

Feel free to leave comments about CMS you’ve used and like, or don’t like, and why.

Are you trying to support clients who have 1K budgets for websites, who also want to be able to update info by themselves?

5 thoughts on “Evaluating Joomla

  1. I’ve used Joomla and Mambo both for small sites. I had a project where we used a few years ago and got competent in it. Learning it can be a timesuck. Really hard to do in that price range. Usually the user wants something other than the default template and graphics and that is where the budget starts leaving the tracks.

    If a page is set up and the users are bright and not wanting ambtious web design they can do some work on it..

    • Thanks for your feedback. Force fit into templates would be acceptable for the immediate situation, but as I was halfway into installing WampServer when I realized if that was required, no way would it work as a CMS useful to my client.

  2. Hi Nancy, :)

    The 1K budget is low, and learnign Joomla really sucks in time. But when learned building a webite with Joomla is quite easy.

    So after you master Joomla that budget could fit cause many times is very easy to do. You only must beware in the graphical design cause many time could be consumed there, put it away from the budget.

    PD: Now I’m developing in iPhone and Windows Mobile devices ;)

    • The reason I dropped Joomla was because I realized it wouldn’t suit the client. I had thought to learn the tool to use for any other odd jobs like this that come up, and I still might. The challenge now, though, is the current client wants to be able to change the content himself. There really isn’t any great tool that bridges the gap between developing a site and managing content. Free, that is. If he has a small budget for the site, it’s non-existent for tools. So, I’m just using BlueHost’s website wizard, which is…painful.

Leave a Reply

