Cold at the Keyboard

No, I’m not talking about code block. I’m talking fingers stiff from chill.

Now that it’s windrizzleter in Seattle, I’m finding that my hands are awfully cold at the keyboard. I’ve searched for solutions and found everything from the pricey-and-not-quite-right [1] to the, well, silly (JMO) [2].

Here’s my criteria for the perfect pair of gloves:

  1. Finger-tip-less (not mittless, not fingerless–I want most of fingers covered)
  2. Thin or ultra-thin material
  3. Non-slippery palms
  4. Form-fitting
  5. Extend only slightly up my wrist since I’m wearing long sleeves
  6. Cost under $15.00 USD

To make a long Google story short, I eventually hit on the idea of glove liners. Hunters and the military have similar requirements and not the sort of gullible silliness that results in USB heated gloves. So, I drove to my local friendly (a.k.a. sorta scary) Army Navy Surplus store yesterday and perused the selection.

I am always agog at the plethora of good quality, low cost, practical stuff that are available at surplus stores. I shopped these stores in high school and in college, and I’ve recently bought muck boots and a rain jacket there. They’re not fashionable (except in my anti-fashionable mind) but they just do the job for a reasonable price, dammit.

Anyhoo, I eventually settled on a pair of light-weight gloves that came in a two-pair pack for the huge sum of $3.00. So cheap I felt fine with experimenting with knit material even though I doubted it would work well. (see #3. above). I also felt fine with snipping the finger tips out.

After one night and one morning using them I found that yes, indeed, I need a glove because typing was soooo much nicer with warm hands, but that this glove wasn’t the solution. Even a fine yarn gauge and a good fit is too thick, and knit gloves are slippery. I just don’t like ’em for driving, car or computer. Also, after just a little use the yarn is unravelling, and no way do I want to spend time hemming 10 finger tips. The only sewing I do willing is mending my dog’s toys.

So, it’ll be back to the surplus store to look at the other possibilities. In the meantime I’ll try my bicycling gloves to see if the padding drives me crazy or not.

Do you have problems with your hands staying warm? If so, how have you solved it?

[1] I don’t suffer from Carpal Tunnel Syndrome (and I’ve been coding for 20 years now), but the gloves looked promising since they very thin. But any CTS/RSI solution is pricey and don’t extend as far up the fingers as I’d like.

[2] Why do I think a USB heated glove is silly? I’m not working in an icebox, so just a layer is more than enough warmth.

5 thoughts on “Cold at the Keyboard

  1. I’d look for some kind of microfiber glove. I haven’t seen any, but microfiber is so lightweight and gentle on the hands that it would probably work nicely as a glove.

    Maybe the answer is even getting some of those nice silky microfiber socks and cutting the toe out, then adding a thumb hole to them….Hmmm.

    Now you’ve got me thinking, which is a bad thing on a day where I’m supposed to be working on stuff that’s on deadline for tomorrow. LOL.

    DnW

  2. Hey, DnW! Thanks for swinging by. I really enjoy your blog.

    Microfiber is an option, but I’m afraid that’ll unravel, too, if I have to cut the fingertips out. Although I wonder if it would work to pink and then douse the cut edges in clear nail polish.

    As for the distraction…sorry about that, but I’m glad I’m not a lone. ;-)

  3. Nancy, remind me sometime to show you a hand-made pair of crocheted (sp?) gloves my old roomate Lisa made for me when we froze one winter in a drafty Boston apt. I still have them (and they are snazzy, with purple/copper yarn and their own knit bag) and I still use them for coldhours at the keyboard, most recently in Los Alamos, NM in a cold office there. If you can crochet or have an interest in learning the needle arts, these are the thing. No fingers but the back of the hands and wrists are wonderfully covered and just nubby enough to forget you have them on. They’ve kept me going for years. Yr. friend Julie

  4. Julie- Thanks for visiting and reading. It’s nice to know you’re out there. I have been knitting for a couple of years, and I did consider making a pair of fingerless mittens (not quite up to fingerless gloves) with some very fine yarn in a small gauge. I keep thinking knit material isn’t going to really do it. I may change my mind though. Right now I’m wearing the pair of sorta-like-archivist gloves that I snipped the finger tips out of.

Leave a Reply

